Productivity & Pals

Every individual in this world is unique and endowed with certain traits.  For whatever reason, when God made me he gave me a certain set of skills and abilities, and decided to leave some things out.  One of these is a logical, ordered mind.  I literally struggle with just sitting down and moving step by step through a (SQUIRREL!) process.  See, it happened just now 🙂  Anyone who has ever asked me for directions, or been a passenger in a car with me on a trip of any length, can also attest to this particular character trait.  
 
For 2013, I wanted to continue the process of tightening the screws on my system so that I could be more productive and be able to rest better.  With Baby Emma in the world now, drawing “hard lines” on my time and calendar were going to be increasingly need to become a reality.  
 
There are literally dozens of different ideas out there, and certainly not “one size fits all” for anyone.  For me, I found the most comfort these past few months plugging into the Getting Things Done (or GTD) methodology as presented by David Allen.  You can find his book here: Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-Free Productivity.  
 
Be prepared: this is a hands on, get involved, and buy a dumpster for all the stuff on your desk type book.
 
I won’t bore you with the details of the system.  If you really want to dig in, I would buy the book, and also check out Michael Hyatt’s blog for multiple links and suggestions:  http://michaelhyatt.com/getting-things-done-an-update.html
 
I do, however, want to share how no system, and no person, is complete until you have a friend help you out.
 
Remember how I mentioned earlier about the non-linear mind?  I am very blessed to have a good friend who does, in fact, possess such a mind.  So when I mentioned to my friend Zach Arend that this was a new system I was going to try I had a feeling he was going to be somewhat interested.  He also has welcomed a new baby girl into his life, is traveling more for eShipping responsibilities, and overall trying to keep the same “edge” I was seeking.  
 
Once Zach had has hands on the information, he went to work and put the system in place in half the time it took me.  The guy is a freak of nature in this “systems” regard, no doubt about it.  But most importantly for me, because he dove in and got this system in place, he was able to help me overcome a HUGE obstacles I was facing and even found an iPhone app to sort things out for me.  Save the day for me, and saved me from creating some overly cumbersome processes.
 
It helps to have people in your life that have been given different gifts or skills than yours.  While it would be awesome to be great at everything, I bet we would lose a lot of what makes us human if that were the case.  I never would have thought to look for an app that would have simplified the entire process like Zach did, and certainly there is minimal chance I could have put together as wonderful a system as David which has literally changed thousands (if not millions) of lives over the past 30 years.
 
So, thank you David Allen, and thank you Zach, for your help in getting 2013 started off right!  
Leave a Reply

