10056 Days…And counting!

pieces

That is, as of January 21st, 2013, the exact number of days I have been alive.  For those of you without a calculator at home, that makes me 27 years old with 28 fast approaching.
I found this out by visiting http://www.therobertd.com/.  You can too, just click the link and scroll down.  Robert is the author of a book I read earlier this month, 20,000 Days and Counting: The Crash Course for Mastering Your Life Right Now.  While I had never heard of Robert before picking up this book I knew immediately it was a worthwhile read.  You see, Robert is the only manager that one of my favorite authors, speakers, and people, Andy Andrews, has ever had.  Andy is the author of multiple best selling books, and if you haven’t read How Do You Kill 11 Million People?: Why the Truth Matters More Than You Think or The Traveler’s Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success you need to pick them up NOW.  Go ahead.  I can wait…
20,000 Days can literally be read in an hour or so, which is how Robert designed it.  Without spoiling too much, the main thrust I got out of this book was the importance of living with INTENTION and CHERISHING each moment we have together.  CELEBRATE each day!  And know that each and every little thing you do adds up to “The Big Thing”, whatever that is for you.
This got me to thinking as well, how am I doing with my days?  Are all days truly created equal?  And am I celebrating enough?
I do not know about you, so I am only going to speak for myself.  And the answer, truly, is no, not all days are created equally and yes, you can live intentionally while cherishing each moment.
There will always be days that stick out in life more than others.  A few of them for me are:
  • The day I was given grace
  • The day I married Kate
  • The day my daughter was born
  • The day I showed up in Tulsa, OK with everything I owed in a UHAUL truck…and drove up to a burned down apartment complex (humble beginnings)
  • The day I moved to Dallas, TX
And these have all just happened in the last 5 years!
Now if you look at these monumental events in relation to your Sunday…what do you see?  I see a day spent:
  • Resting
  • Holding my little girl
  • Talking to my wife about life, the budget, what we are doing this week
  • Getting ready for the week ahead
  • Reading
  • Watching Star Trek (RED ALERT:  Nerd Zone)
And at the end of the day, I hope you see another day that passed that you enjoyed.  We don’t always get days like that, I know.  So that just means we should celebrate the good one’s all the more.
It seems like in life we’ve been programmed to move to “big event” to “big event”.  You’re born, graduate, married, babies, anniversaries, funerals, etc.  And I am just as guilty as anyone here.  But what if, as Robert suggests, we were to live our lives with intention, cherish each day, and celebrate each moment so that when the “big events” happen, you appreciate them even more?  That’s why you see grown men crying as they move towards their goal of a Super Bowl.  Because they realized that all the little things they did added up to get them to where they wanted to be.
So go ahead, try it out!  See how many days you have been here.  Then, think about how you would like the next 5,000, 10,000, or 20,000 days to go.  What do you want to accomplish with the days ahead?  How about just tomorrow?
And here’s your thinking music 🙂
Leave a Reply

